Former GEDC Chairs

GEDC Past Chairs, 2008 - 2013

Cristina H. Amon, Canada, 2008-2009

Cristina Amon has been the Dean of the University of Toronto's Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering and Alumni Professor of Bioengineering in Mechanical & Industrial Engineering since 2006. She received her Mechanical Engineering diploma from Simón Bolívar University, and her MS and ScD degrees in 1988 at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Prior to her leadership at the University of Toronto, she was the Raymond J. Lane Distinguished Professor and Director of the Institute for Complex Engineered Systems at Carnegie Mellon University.

A pioneer in the development of Computational Fluid Dynamics for formulating and solving thermal design problems subject to multidisciplinary competing constraints, she conducts research in nanoscale thermal transport in semiconductors, energy systems and bioengineered devices.

Dean Amon serves on the BoD of MKS Instruments Inc., a leading global provider for advanced manufacturing of semiconductor devices, energy generation and electro-optical products. She is chair of the research committee of NCDEAS (National Council of Deans of Engineering and Applied Science), past chair of the Global Engineering Deans Council, and serves on advisory boards for several institutions including Stanford, UCLA, UIUC and Waterloo.

Cristina Amon has received numerous professional and leadership awards, including the ASME Gustus Larson Memorial Award, ASEE Westinghouse Medal, ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award, and the Society of Women Engineers' Achievement Award. In 2012 she was recognized as one of Canada's most Influential Women. She was inducted to four academies: Canadian Academy of Engineering, Spanish Royal Academy, Royal Society of Canada and the U.S. National Academy of Engineering. She is an elected fellow of all major professional societies in her field and has authored over 350 refereed articles in education and research literature.


Hasan Mandal, Turkey, 2009-2010

Hasan Mandal (Prof.Dr.) received his BSc in Metallurgy from Middle East Technical University (Turkey) in 1987 and PhD in Ceramic Materials from University of Newcastle (UK) in 1992. He worked as a postdoctoral research associate during the periods of 1992-1996 and 1997-1998 at Newcastle and Karlsruhe Universities, respectively. In 1996, he joined the department of Ceramic Engineering at Anadolu University. He became the Head of Department (1999), Dean of the Faculty of Engineering at Anadolu University (2004), Chairperson of Turkish Engineering Deans Council (2006), Chairperson of Global Engineering Deans Council (GEDC-2009) and Vice Rector of Anadolu University (2010). He has co-authored over a hundred publications, three patents about science and technologies on Si3N4 based ceramics including phase relationships, structure-property relations and applications, specifically on cutting tools. There have been over 750 cites to his publications and his h factor is 15. He has also contributed in the field of education and university-industry relations. Because of these achievements, he was honored by twenty awards including TUBITAK Science Award and European Ceramic Society, Stuijts Award. As a scientific expert, he served in several positions including the Turkish Scientific and Research Council, National Boron Institute, Eskisehir Technological Development Park, Ceramic Research Center Co. Prof. Dr. Mandal is a Council and Permanent Executive Committee members of European Ceramic Society (ECerS), Council Member of International Ceramic Federation (ICF) and Consulting Member of World Innovation Foundation (WIF). He is currently the President of European Ceramic Society (ECerS) and the First Vice President of International Federation of Engineering Education Societies (IFEES). 


David Garza Salazar, Mexico, 2010-2011

David Garza Salazar is the President of Tecnologico de Monterrey, Campus Monterrey in Mexico. He received his B.Sc. in computer science and engineering from Tec de Monterrey in 1985 and obtained a Ph.D. in computer science from Colorado State University in 1996. As a Faculty Member at Tec de Monterrey he has advised multiple theses, has been author of multiple journal/conference and book articles, and worked as consultant in different industry projects. He twice received the Distinguished Faculty Award. He has also been the Director of Research and Graduate Programs in Information and Communication Technologies; Dean of the Division of Computing, Information and Communications; and Dean of the School of Engineering and President of Campus San Luis Potosi.

Dr. Garza Salazar is a member of professional societies and organizations such as: ASEE, IEEE, ACM, Sigma Xi, and Phi Kappa Phi. He has served in different conference committees. He is Chair of the Global Engineering Deans Council (GEDC), an initiative created with the support of American Association of Engineering Education and International Federation of Engineering Education Societies. He has been a Member of the following boards and councils: San Pedro-Nuevo Leon Technology Innovation Council, the Council for the Software Industry Development of Nuevo Leon, the Microsoft Research Committee of the Latin American region, Mexican Council of Exterior Commerce in San Luis Potosí, and San Luis Potosí’s Science and Technology Council in San Luis Potosí among others.  


Sarah Rajala, USA, 2011-2013

Sarah Rajala became the Dean, James & Katherine Melsa Professor in Engineering, College of Engineering, at Iowa State University on April 1, 2013.

Prior to her becoming dean at Iowa State University, Sarah A. Rajala was professor and dean of engineering at Mississippi State University and held the Earnest W. and Mary Ann Deavenport Jr. Endowed Chair. She received her BS degree from Michigan Technological University, and MS and PhD degrees from Rice University.

From 1979 to 2006 Dr. Rajala was a member of the faculty at North Carolina State University and served as director of the Industry/University Cooperative Research Center for Advanced Computing and Communication, associate dean for academic affairs, and associate dean for research and graduate programs. In 2006, she became the department head of electrical and computer engineering at Mississippi State University and held the James Worth Bagley Endowed Chair. During her career she conducted research on the analysis and process of images and image sequences and on engineering educational assessment. She has directed 17 master's theses and 16 PhD dissertations, has authored and co-authored more than 100 refereed papers, and has made contributions to 13 books.

Dr. Rajala has received numerous awards for her research and professional contributions, including the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring in 2000 and Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers and the American Society for Engineering Education. In 2008-2009, she served as the president of the American Society for Engineering Education. She has been recognized by Michigan Technological University as the Outstanding Young Alumnus in 1986, elected to the Council of Alumnae and Academy of Outstanding Electrical Engineers 1996, and was named their Outstanding Alumnus in August 2008.